NMPRC NOMINATING COMMITTEE Thursday, October 18, 2022 at 9:00 am State Capitol, Room 309

MINUTES OF THE MEETING

I. CALL TO ORDER

The scheduled meeting of the NMPRC Nominating Committee was called to order on October 18, 2022 at 9:04 a.m. by Chairperson Brian Egolf.

II. ROLL CALL

Roll call indicated the presence of a quorum in person, as follows:

MEMBERS PRESENT

The Honorable Brian Egolf, Chairperson
The Honorable Alonzo Baldonado, Secretary
Member Ron J. Lovato
Member Denise Ramonas
Member Cydney Beadles
Member Rikki Seguin
Member William Brancard

III. APPROVAL OF AGENDA

Member Seguin moved, seconded by Member Brancard, to approve the agenda as presented. The motion was approved unanimously by consent.

IV. REPORTS FROM THE OFFICE OF THE ATTORNEY GENERAL, KARLA SOLORIA (INFORMATIONAL ITEM)

Ms. Soloria had nothing new to report but wanted to help ensure the questionnaire was administered properly.

V. DISCUSSION AND APPROVAL OF CANDIDATES TO BE INTERVIEWED (ACTION ITEM)

Member Ramonas the subcommittee spent the weekend looking at the questionnaires submitted and recommended 13 for interviews. Among the 13 were six attorneys, four in government, four recently retired from government,

one academic, five with MBA degrees or other business backgrounds, and two engineers. Six were registered as Democrats and five Independent and two Republicans. Six New Mexico counties were represented, one from another state and one from the District of Columbia.

The subcommittee was satisfied these candidates met the minimum requirements.

Ms. Ramonas announced the list: Gabriel Aguilera, Ward Camp, Kenneth Costello, Carolyn Glick, Cynthia Hall, Cholla Khoury, Joseph Little, Guy Lyon, Brian Moore, Patrick O'Connor, Arthur O'Donnell, Jeffrey Keith, and Amy Stein.

Ms. Soloria left and Chair Egolf asked for help in getting her back to the meeting.

Member Beadles tried to reach her on phone without luck.

Chair Egolf noted some of the candidates had been involved in PRC cases presently on appeal at the Supreme Court. He felt that should be no bar to their selection. In Ms. Soloria's absence, he asked Ms. Kepler if there was a process for having an acting Commissioner participate when a Commissioner would need to recuse in a particular case, or possible two had to recuse, now only one Commissioner could vote without a quorum.

Ms. Kepler deferred to the PRC Office of General Counsel and agreed to reach out to OGC.

Secretary Baldonado identified two who didn't make this list - Jason Burns and Scott Karnes and shared why he felt they should also be interviewed.

Member Beadles also pointed out that two candidates were unaware a questionnaire had been sent to them. We contacted them and asked for a reasonable time to complete the questionnaire until Thursday at 5;00.

Member Ramonas said there were four candidates who didn't receive the questionnaire. She asked to allow until Thursday at 5 pm to receive responses from them. They might be considered for interviews or not.

Ms. Kepler reported her follow up – two said it went to their spam folder and the other two did not respond.

Member Seguin proposed 15 as the maximum number after allowing three days for those who had not responded and those to be reconsidered.

Chair Egolf agreed.

Secretary Baldonado moved, seconded by Member Brancard, to approve the Subcommittee report and have the Subcommittee consider further the four others who had been proposed for reconsideration. The motion was approved without objection.

Secretary Baldonado moved, seconded by Member Lovato, to send Jason Burns and Scott Karnes, Jim Ellison, and David Bock names to the Subcommittee for reconsideration before the next meeting.

Member Ramonas mentioned the name of Donatella Pasqualini, who did not submit responses to the questionnaire because she felt the questions did not give her an opportunity to bring her expertise as a physicist to the table.

Member Seguin supported a further review of the materials from that candidate and consider that reasoning.

Member Ramonas moved, seconded by Member Brancard, to amend the motion to ask the Subcommittee to reconsider responses from Donatella Pasqualini, if she responds to the questionnaire by Thursday at 5:00 p.m. The motion as amended was approved without objection.

Ms. Soloria was available remotely. Chair Egolf asked her about how to act when one or two Commissioners must recuse from a vote and lose a quorum.

Ms. Soloria agreed to look into that and report back.

Chair Egolf thought it might need an amendment to the statute.

Member Beadles asked Ms. Soloria to consider the *rule of necessity* to leave a majority that will allow them to act.

VI. DISCUSSION OF INTERVIEW PROCESS (INFORMATIONAL ITEM)

The Committee briefly discussed how to structure the agenda for the interviews.

Chair Egolf summarized the discussion – start on the hour and interview for 45 minutes with three interviews in the morning and two or possibly three in the afternoon and ask the candidates to avoid watching the other interviews.

Member Beadles moved, seconded by Secretary Baldonado, to approve the schedule summarized by Chair Egolf and require all interviews in person. The motion was approved with one objection by Member Brancard.

Ms. Kepler agreed to set the interview schedule and include the names of those to be interviewed on the published agenda for each of the three schedules dates for interviews.

VII. PUBLIC COMMENT

There were no public comments.

VIII. OTHER BUSINESS

Member Beadles thanked Member Ramonas for coming up with the questionnaire. It helped us greatly.

Ms. Kepler agreed to provide the names and scheduled time to Committee members by Friday.

IX. ADJOURNMENT

The meeting was adjourned at 10:05 a.m.

Approved by:	
Brian Egolf, Chair	Date